Aristotle :)

Aristotle believes that your actions are what lead you to what you think is happiness. Everyone’s definition of happiness is different. I agree more with Aristotle because yes you should have a close relationship with God but you need to work to make things happen. Some people just focus on fate, “things happen for a reason”, but life is full of choices and the choices you make decide what will happen. God cannot give you whatever you ask for, He can only make you how he wants you to be. I believe if you put your faith in Him then he will put you in the right direction to make the right choices and lead you to a road of happiness. I want to be a doctor one day and I have faith in God that he will lead me in the right direction but I know I need to work hard to obtain that goal. It won’t just come to me because I want it. I come to class everyday so that I can succeed in college and get my degree. I want my degree so that I can start medical school and become a doctor. I want to be a doctor so that I can help people to get better. That is my definition of happiness. Aristotle states in Book 1, Chapter 8, line 1098b22 “happiness has virtually been defined as a sort of living well and doing well.” To me, happiness does not come from how much money someone has. You could have all the money in the world and be the most miserable person in the world. Money comes with problems. I just want to live comfortable and have a family that I know loves me. As long as I know I saved a life I will be happy. God watches and He looks at your actions. If you are humble and appreciate everything you have, He will bless you in life and make sure you are happy. I have just always been brought up to respect everyone and help the people that can’t help themselves. By doing this God will bless me and make me happy. Don’t do things just to make yourself look better, do them for the good of others. I also know it is all about how people are raised. Most wealthy families only think of themselves and fake being happy but they aren’t. They raise their children to only think of themselves and to make sure they know how to keep their money. They want to stay rich. However, middle class families work hard to live comfortably so they appreciate things more. They are also more generous because they know God will bless them and help them become happy. I guess what I’m trying to get to here is that just because you put all of your faith in God to make you happy does not mean it will just come to you.  You also have to work at it and make good choices along the way.